Kla-how-yah!

I come from a family of pack rats. History stirs on the shelves in teapots and in boxes full of letters and journals as long ago as 1830. The family story goes back to 1638. But it’s been the stories of my Nana, her mother known as Bongie and my 93-year-old mother that nourished me. There are strong women in my family. Ansenith Parker, Quaker missionary to the Shawnee and Kaw. Martha (Bongie) March, teacher of ex-slaves and Kiowa children and president of the Idaho Womans’ Relief Corps. Mysterious Judith March who was fined for wearing a lace cap above her station in the 1600s. Writing about them has helped me examine my own life and upbringing.

And then there is my great-grandfather, Dr. William F. Osborn, Civil War surgeon from Fairchance, Pennsylvania. I was seven years old when my mother put his journal from Gettysburg in my hands. That began my life-long love of history of many times and places, especially World War II and the Pacific Northwest.

Here at Historyweaver’s, I hope to write about history, writing historical fiction, family story, and the writing craft of time and place.

5 thoughts on “Kla-how-yah!

  1. Those moments when we are present–a part of history in the making shape our relationship with the world. The first essay I ever published was of standing with my brother watching a squad of soldiers marching up and down in front of Stagg Field. Three years later we found out they were guarding the first atomic chain reaction taking place under the stands of the old football field. A coming of age moment.
    Congratulations on becoming a blogger.
    Judy

Leave a comment